Director, Merritt Writing Program and Associate Dean, Office of Undergraduate Education

The University of California, Merced (UC Merced) invites nominations and applications for the position of Director of the Merritt Writing Program, a 12-month position at the rank of Lecturer with Security of Employment (LSOE), which confers membership in the Academic Senate and security of employment analogous to tenure. Consistent with the University’s mission to provide research, teaching, and public service of the highest quality, UC Merced offers educational opportunities at the undergraduate, masters and doctoral levels through three academic schools: Engineering, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts.

The Director will provide leadership for UC Merced’s Merritt Writing Program (MWP), an academic unit within the Office of Undergraduate Education. The MWP ( includes approximately 65 part-time and full-time lecturers and two Senate Lecturers (i.e., Lecturers with Security of Employment), and provides lower division and upper division writing courses, including required composition courses, and an undergraduate writing minor. The MWP is committed to working with UC Merced’s many first-generation students and its culturally and linguistically diverse student population. 

Required qualifications include: Ph.D., Ed.D, or other terminal degree in a discipline relevant to the position; experience in administration of a writing program or related administrative activity; evidence of administrative leadership, including planning, supervision, and program evaluation; evidence of excellence in teaching in a university; a record of scholarly and/or creative achievement relevant to the position; expertise in effective practices of composition pedagogy and learning assessment; experience in curriculum development; and expertise in effective practices in writing program administration. For information see: Review of applications begins March 1, 2017 and continues until the position is filled. Position will start no later than August 1, 2017.